Silver Anniversary Safari 5

 

ELEPHANTIDAE: African Bush Elephant – Loxodonta africana

I praise you for your centredness,

Your wise and knowing gentleness…

 

 

My first sighting of my lifelong iconic animal was, if not exactly an anti-climax, fairly low-impact. It was more of a suggestion, a glimpse of a familiar outline through the dense papyrus plants. This turned out to be a Bachelor Herd; a group of young males who ‘hang out’ together after they’ve become too big to stay with the Breeding Herd.

dsc_0116

 

While it was still thrilling, I realised that what I longed to see was the classic group so long admired by me; led by the matriarch, supported by numerous female relatives and including at least one eye-mistingly cute baby.

On Friday, we left Livingstone, lingerie-nicking monkeys, marauding baboons and head-spinning helicopter rides behind and headed back into Botswana en route to the Chobe National Park. Our post-supper talk the previous evening had been all about how everything would change. Bibi was anxious to make it clear. There will be no more hotels or houseboats. The animals can go where they want and we will be camping in the middle of their territory.

I’ll describe the campsite later. I want this post to be about elephants. And that afternoon, on our very first game drive, there they were.

I’ve written a few words which I hope will convey how I felt at finally encountering my beloved pachyderms in the flesh. Other than that, I’ll let the photos speak for them selves.

 

Beautiful and wild  and above all, alive.

Your ivory proudly sported in the only place it should be.

 

029030072

I am so close I can almost feel

The breath of your curiosity

As you raise your trunk and explore us

On an inhalation.

005009010013015016

 

I see you; close enough to touch,

Your scent caressing my nostrils.

I ache with a joy

Of dreams fulfilled,

Of a moment falling into place.

 

Your nearness delights me

But I also love to see you far away.

You march in lines,

Roam in the distance,

Paddle in close groups,

Take constant, fierce care of your young.

017019021022

 

I will always remember you in this place.

My heart sings with the thrill of it.

Stay safe and protected

So your beauty may be cherished,

By me and by many others,

Forever…

 

 

About rooboard

I am navigating the landscape of loss with words as my guide.
This entry was posted in Ruthie's ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Silver Anniversary Safari 5

  1. A Paul says:

    Beautiful words and photographs Ruth xx

    Like

  2. cathum says:

    What a wonderful experience. Your photos capture their majesty, and your words bring it to life. Lovely responses, lucky, lucky you.
    I like what you’ve done with this, not just a travel-log of your time in Africa, these words reveal so much of your ideas and ideals. This is nice, honest writing.

    Like

  3. Sue dimmer says:

    You are truly experiencing nature at its most beautiful and impressive!
    Your personal thoughts make me feel quite humble and privileged.
    So wonderful cos I really feel that I’m living your travels through you.
    Thank you gorgeous girl xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rooboard says:

    Thanks Susie, lovely words. I’m so pleased you’re enjoying it. I feel privileged to have had the experience and writing this blog is keeping it all fresh in my memory. Long live the elephants! And all their Savannah companions, for that matter xx

    Like

  5. Ruth I am just learning more about your wonderful trip via this website. What an amazing time you had and how wonderfully you are portraying your wonder – I love it – and the animals too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rooboard says:

      Thanks Judith. I’m loving writing about our trip and keeping the memories vivid. It was wonderful to be amongst all those amazing creatures. And the colours! Look forward to showing you few more in Suffolk x

      Like

  6. writeonthebeach says:

    Lovely words and pictures. You really capture the essence of the place.

    Like

Leave a comment